Microsoft Dynamics Forums Homepage

Forum Home Forum Home > Microsoft Dynamics SL (Solomon) > SL - Installation and Administration
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Upgrading from Sol 5.5 to 6.5
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login


Upgrading from Sol 5.5 to 6.5

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
501Blues View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: February 15 2007
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 501Blues Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Upgrading from Sol 5.5 to 6.5
    Posted: February 15 2007 at 1:25pm
I am trying to upgrade from 5.5 to 6.5 and I ran into some problems on my test database.
First I am new to Solomon and it is my understanding Solomon no longer supports 5.5 so I am forced to upgrade.
 
Sol 5.5 is on a 2000 server running SQL 2000. Sol 6.5 is on a 2003 server running SQL 2005.
 
I have installed a clean version of Sol 6.5 on my 2003 server per the instructions.  Again per the instructions regarding upgrading I selected the update scenario 5.x to 6.5.
 
After it ran I received the following message from DBBuild.log file.
 
Error Code: 8152
 
Error Text: [Mircosoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver][SQL Server]String or binary data would be truncated.
[Mircosoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver][SQL Server] The statement has been terminated.
Statement: IF EXISTS(SELECT * FROM dbo.Custom2) EXEC('INSERT INTO dbo.Tmp.Custom2(Description, EntityId, RecordIndex, ScreenID, Sequence, PropData)
SELECT Description, EntityId, RecordIndex, ScreenID, Sequence, PropData from dbo.Custom2 TABLOCKX')
 
I read one of the threads and it suggested removing any customization you might have.  Is this what Custom2 table represents?  If so, I do I remove the customizations.
 
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Back to Top
Sponsored Links


Back to Top
501Blues View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: February 15 2007
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 501Blues Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: February 15 2007 at 7:47pm

Well I think I figured it out.  I copied all the data out of Custom2 table then deleted the data out of the table.  Ran the upgrade and all went as it should.

Back to Top
jhunter77082 View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: August 15 2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 237
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jhunter77082 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: February 16 2007 at 11:11am
You would be bettor off EXPORTING your customizations out of SOLOMON, deleting them (via sql), doing the upgrade, and then re-importing them (if you still need them).
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down


Copyright 2013 microsoftdynamicsforums.com. All rights reserved. MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com is an independent non-Microsoft website.
Email: contact AT microsoftdynamicsforums DOT com