Microsoft Dynamics Forums Homepage

Forum Home Forum Home > Microsoft Dynamics GP (Great Plains) > GP - General
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Connection string for non sa user in GP
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login


Connection string for non sa user in GP

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
kavitha View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: October 23 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kavitha Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Connection string for non sa user in GP
    Posted: September 05 2012 at 2:21am

I am using this connection string for non-sa user: But i am getting login failed error.

string connection = "data source=Rohri;initial catalog=TWO;persist security info=False;User ID=client;Password=pwd";

if  i use user id = sa then it is working. if i use anther user i am getting error.

Let me know what is connection string for non sa user..................

B.kavitha
Back to Top
Sponsored Links


Back to Top
Rohtash Kapoor View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Moderator
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Moderator


Joined: July 06 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 655
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rohtash Kapoor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 05 2012 at 7:25am

Where are you using this connectionstring? The GP user password are encrypted to restrict users from directly connecting to SQL database. When you create a GP user GPUser1, a SQL login GPUser1 is created. The password which is saved in GP is not the password which is saved in SQL Server. GP encrypts the password set in GP application before saving in SQL.

Back to Top
kavitha View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: October 23 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kavitha Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 06 2012 at 12:18am
Thanks your reply... Password is encripted then how can i test with non sa user.....let me know which user id and password i have to use to connect non sa user.
B.kavitha
Back to Top
Rohtash Kapoor View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Moderator
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Moderator


Joined: July 06 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 655
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rohtash Kapoor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 07 2012 at 8:53pm
Where are you using this connectionstring?
Back to Top
kavitha View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: October 23 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kavitha Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 07 2012 at 9:14pm

i am using this connection stirng from c#.Please look at this link.

https://community.dynamics.com/product/gp/f/32/p/87847/165403.aspx#165403 .

I am using two different connection strings. There are DYNAMIC  and TWO.

This is connetion string  for DYNAMIC Database :

Data Source=Rohri;Initial Catalog=DYNAMICS;Persist Security Info=False;User ID=client1;

This  is for TWO Database :

Data Source=Rohri;Initial Catalog=TWO;Persist Security Info=False;User ID=client1;
DYNAMIC is working but not for TWO database.

Now i am trying to create  a table in TWO database. But i am getting error permission deniaed to create  a table.
 
B.kavitha
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down


Copyright 2013 microsoftdynamicsforums.com. All rights reserved. MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com is an independent non-Microsoft website.
Email: contact AT microsoftdynamicsforums DOT com